HOST clan

2017 Host Clan - Clan Donald

IClan Donald, also known as Clan MacDonald (Scottish Gaelic: MacDhòmhnaill), is a Highland Scottish clan and one of the largest Scottish clans. The chiefs of the Clan Donald held the title of Lord of the Isles until 1495 and two of the chiefs also held the title ofEarl of Ross until 1476. There are also numerous branches to the Clan Donald and several of these have chiefs recognised by theLord Lyon King of Arms; these are: Clan Macdonald of Sleat, Clan Macdonald of Clanranald, Clan MacDonell of Glengarry, Clan MacDonald of Keppoch, and Clan MacAlister.

Notable branches without chiefs so-recognised are: the Clan MacDonald of Dunnyveg, Clan MacDonald of Lochalsh, theMacDonalds of Glencoe, and the MacDonalds of Ardnamurchan. The MacDonnells of Antrim are a cadet branch of the MacDonalds of Dunnyveg but do not belong to the Scottish associations and have a chief officially recognised in Ireland.


List of the Host Clans to date:

2001 130th Donald
2002 131st Davidson
2003 132nd MacKenzie
2004 133rd MacMillan
2005 134th Cameron
2006 135th Wallace
2007 136th Clans of Waipu  [Clans that went to Waipu]
2008 137th MacLeod
2009 138th Donnachaidh / Robertson
2010 139th Clan MacLean
2011 140th House of Gordon
2012 141st Clan Stewart
2013 142nd Clan Ferguson
2014 143rd Clan Campbell
2015 144th Clan Keith
2016 145th Clan Donald
2017 146th Clan Donald